Christmas Cross Stitch – With a Difference!

Christmas cross stitch can be a little – how can I put this – sappy. Don’t get me wrong: I love Christmas, but cross stitched choirs of angels and doe-eyed children are a little much-y if you know what I mean.

So in the spirit of the season, I thought I’d make a Christmas cross stitch for a friend. But really the only thing Christmas-y about it is I’m going to present it as a present.

Here’s half:

Modern Cross Stitch - Christmas Cross Stitch

The row of hearts is pretty, yes? I got the pattern from the Subversive Cross Stitch book which probably gives you a clue to the content. It’s not-quite-safe-for-work, so I’m going to put it after the jump (not terribly explicit – contains a swear).

Homemade gifts in a jar are a little last year, you know? Wrap your Christmas paper around this:

Christmas Cross Stitch - Cross Stitch Gift with a difference

Oh. Oh dear.

So we’ve learned I have a potty mouth and an odd sense of humour. But it’s okay – my friend does too. Plus, I backed the piece with a pretty vintage fabric, so when Aunt Maud comes to visit, it can just be flipped over.

Framed Cross Stitch - Christmas Cross Stitch Idea

Much better. And don’t you love how it’s displayed in an embroidery hoop? I saw the idea on Craftster, and loved it! It was easy, cheap (always a factor), and looks pretty. Best of all, if my friend really hates this gift, it can be dismantled and the embroidery hoop reused for more tasteful designs.

But really, what could be a more tasteful Christmas cross stitch than a prettily presented swear?

About Rachel

I like to talk craft on the internet.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Craft, Cross Stitch, Gift Ideas, Pretty Things and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Cross Stitch – With a Difference!

  1. Pingback: More Christmas Cross Stitch + Free Christmas Cross Stitch Pattern « Paper Doily

Leave a Reply

